Platinum Era Morning Musume

Do you have a happy place? Somewhere to retreat to when winter makes you lethargic or when work gets on top of you? I have several. None is more full of love, positive energy and beautiful,shining personalities than Platinum era Momusuland. What is it about the period 2007-2010? I guess it’s a first love thing. I discovered Momusu in 2007 and although I like a lot of the golden era both for the music and personalities, and although I still like the current idols and respect their abilities and talents, platinum era is just my special place.

There’s something comforting about the past and also scary when you realise how long ago it was. I like classic era Doctor Who some of which was on when I was a child and some before I was born. The fact it stopped a long time ago (before being resurrected) and represented my youth means the passing of time isn’t so noticeable. I expect it to be a long time ago. With Momusu though the members mostly continue in the public eye so they never went away as such (Goddess Eri an exception). Therefore realising that 2007 was 16 years ago really makes me feel…well…old. Even so revisiting the past is a lovely experience. I have a playlist on my laptop with the platinum era singles plus lots of live clips I love.

Top 3 platinum singles?

  1. Mikan. When this came out I actually didn’t like it much. Damn. Why? It’s perfect. This was their lowest selling single at the time until Pyukey Pyukey Yellow Chicken Dance vomited into the charts in 2012 and (deservedly) took its place. Mikan is impossible not to love now surely? I think as the world burns more and more we need its positivity and beauty more and more.
  2. Kimagure Princess. Well this had always been my favourite single. It was fun and sexy when Momusu were trying to forge a new image. I don’t particularly want them fun and sexy as such but after poor sales of songs like Mikan it was a good direction to try and the song still is catchy as hell.
  3. Resonant Blue. Ah the memories. I love the PV. All versions of it. The night version with Reina looking like a delinquent, the dance practice version with the members in their casual dance clothes, the dark clothes dance version with them all looking mature and confident. The night version is the best though. All the different scenes with them left an impression. The song itself was a change in direction and even though I love Mikan the sales were poor and I think they needed to try something else.

Top album tracks?

  1. Ame no Furanai Hoshi de wa Aisenai Darou? There are only two albums that cover the platinum era but they have some of my all-time favourite H!P songs on them. Although I’m not generally a ballad person they can be excellent and I love this one (especially the Japanese language version with nevertheless a very welcome Chinese solo part for the pandas). A beautiful song and there’s a great live version on the Platinum 9 Disco tour that is only spoilt by the fact they are dressed as canaries at the time.
  2. Namidacchi. A great song with a positive message. There’s a superb live version on the Pikappika tour in 2010. Eri going wild, Sayu looking peak Sayu and Junjun wearing a teddy on her head oh and Reina has the biggest bow you can legally wear on your head without having to apply for planning permission.
  3. Take off is now! Ai-chan! Reina! Niigaki! Cool! Powerful! Sexy! Confident! A song full of attitude and a crowd pleaser.
  4. Songs. A great high tempo start to an album or to a concert.
  5. It’s You. It’s Sayu. Okay the lyrics are dodgier than buying illegal substances in a back alley but it’s Sayu. Sayu. Singing solo. Sayu singing solo. Sayu. Gotta love it.

Some canaries singing

Namidacchi . Morning Musume Concert Tour ’10 Haru ~PikaPika!~ My favourite live performance from the whole of H!P’s history.

As for my favourite H!P idols well the top 3 are all platinum members. AI-chan and Junjun sharing top spot and Sayu in third. Eri is up there too.

Michishige with Ai-chan. Can’t blame her.

Junjun. I still suffer from Junloss after 13 years.

Kamei Eri post-graduation (with Koharu and Junjun). Rest of body presumably still attached.

Recently I’ve been rewatching Haromoni@ one episode a week and on the anniversary of original broadcast. It’s fun to slowly revisit that era and get a little bit of sunshine each week. To be fair season one doesn’t have the tedious memory tests so I haven’t had to suffer through that. Although season one also has less moments where members get their own solo or duo moments. I am enjoying reliving those days. Each Saturday morning I start with 20 minutes of platinum vitamin HP. I guess this era will be with me for life. It was the start of a great journey and gave such happy memories that, at times when I need some energy boost or refreshment of the soul it is the perfect pick-me-up. I don’t even mind Mitsui (she’s kind of sweet in an annoying little sister way). I must be mellowing. It feels good.

Anyway I’m glad to see Ai-chan still busy, Niigaki posting happily on IG, Reina on tv a lot, Junjun at least getting some acting work sometimes and Eri every once in a blue moon sharing the beauty of two fingers with us mere mortals. When I got into H!P there was not much we could do to follow the members so I am grateful that we have at least some positives from the utter mess that is social media these days. Ex H!P members still shining and will continue to do so for many years to come.

2 responses to “Platinum Era Morning Musume

  1. I feel the same way about Platinum era. Although I was not a fan at the time, I still feel a special connection to that time period. The members, songs, and general vibe during that time are something special that I don’t think we will ever see again. I miss Aika, although I know you don’t care for her :). Junjun & Linlin were let go too soon. What could have been. Anyways, thanks for another good blog post to read.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think it was an era with its own aura. I think Junjun and Linlin were very underused. Both were great whenever they got the chance to be on talk shows or similar variety type shows.

      I don’t mind Aika that much. I think my feelings have mellowed. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment