Morning Musume top 10 singles

Okay so it’s another long-time no see situation. Recently I have still been following Hello! Project but I’ve been taking a break from idol-related social media. I have always found that idol entertainment and idol fandom have a lot of humour inherently connected to it. Idol fans however, especially the younger ones, have a distinct lack of humour about them and it sucks all the fun out of the past-time and the oxygen out of the room. I have however been lurking on Discord more and enjoyed the Hello! Project Fans recent server oshi contest (my faves never do well but I’m happy that Ruru was the winner). In some ways Discord is a little like what Twitter used to be. Maybe it’s because the posts are all on-topic.

While I am keeping a low profile I am still nevertheless enjoying idols. I recently came to the conclusion though that, although I love current Momusu, Juice=Juice and Beyooooonds, when it comes down to it Platinum era Momusu has my heart. I have been enjoying watching old Sayu DVDs this past week and over the past year have been rewatching old subbed Hello! Mornings, Haromoni@s, Yorosens and so on. The Platinum era ones are where the members appeal to me the strongest but with a healthy love of the golden girls too (and yes calling them the “golden girls” does conjure up an unfair image of old geriatrics). When it comes to the music though the Platinum era doesn’t dominate, well at least not with singles (there are some great album tracks though. In fact the majority of my fave album tracks would be from that time). And so I decided to do a no particular order (except number one) top 10 Morning Musume singles list.

1 – Renai Revolution 21.

This is the song that made me a fan (ooh baby). It’s still catchy as heck (ooh baby). I think it’s the best song by Tsunku. In the name of love (ooh baby) I embraced H!P (ooh baby) Renai Revolution 21!

It would be impossible to put the rest in any kind of order of preference so instead I put them in order of release.

2 – Koko ni Iruzee!

Yes! Wonderland. Koko ni Iruzee overcomes country borders and advances into my brain with glee. Seeing this performed live back in 2010 is still one of the strongest H!P memories I have.

3 – Iroppoi Jirettai

Hey, Shh (guitar twangs) hey listen (guitar twangs) this is a great song YAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH. I’m Spanish. GET ME SOME CASTANETS. PARTYYYYYYYY.

Ahem. Sorry. It’s just you know…it’s hard to resist.

4 – Egao YES nude

This is a rare song I never skip. I have a bad tendency to play music on random far too often and when I do that I’m often not in the mood for this type of song or that type of song. There’s no time I’m not in the mood for this song.

5 – Kanashimi Twilight

Along with Renai Revolution 21 this was what made me a fan. Getting linked to the music videos for both songs changed my life in so many ways. I was always into guitar music so this was an easy in really. The music video having everyone look gorgeous but also fierce probably also helped. I don’t think I’d have been quite ready for anything too cutesy straight from the off.

6 – Kimagure Princess

This is the only out and out Platinum era single in this list. Resonant Blue only just misses out though. The lyrics are a bit odd but the music is an ear worm for sure.


7 – One Two Three

One. Eripon is here. Two. Honey is here. 3. Ayumi is here and there’s still Sayumi and Reina. This song could have heralded a fantastic couple of years especially when followed up with…


8 – Wakuteka Take A Chance

Unfortunately Tsunku took a chance on about 500 billion EDM ballads over the next few years. Or at least that’s how it felt. I don’t get why. All the slow dancing in formation songs sounded far too similar to me and when they did go for something faster it felt like something edifying was missing. Both One Two Three and Wakuteka Take A Chance were instant classics though.


9. Utakata Saturday Night

In some ways this is in a similar vein to the previous two songs I mentioned. An instant classic. Fun, upbeat and a great send off for Suzuki Kanon. I didn’t know too much about Tsuno Maisa but it’s such a shame that the person who gave us such a song left this world far too young. I kind of want to keep things positive though here so I won’t dwell on that. Just much love to anyone who is feeling lost.


10 – LOVEpedia

And so to what seems like recent times. After all it’s the debut of the 15th generation. It was also over two and a half years ago already. I mean since this was released there’s been a global pandemic. Time flies. Maybe it is still too soon to say if it is a genuine top ten for me. It had the feel of an instant favourite though. I still listen to it whenever I’m going through Momusu songs. The music video is a lot of fun too.

There were a few songs unlucky to miss out. Manatu no Kousen was considered but really it’s Niigaki’s solo live version from the 2008 Haru ~Single Daizenshuu!! tour that I love. Also just missing out was Furari Ginza which is a real throwback to the Golden era. I guess I could also throw in The Peace! and Souda! We’re Alive! too. Plus Resonant Blue. Mikan sure has grown on me as well despite my being massively underwhelmed by it for many years. Seishun Kozou ga Naiteiru, Sexy Cat no Enzetsu, Osaka Koi no Uta and Beat no Wakusei are all worthy of mention too. I’m happy with my top 10 though. It spans the whole era too which is unintentional and also a great sign that Morning Musume is a special thing. 25 years and still going strong. Kanpai BABY!

2 responses to “Morning Musume top 10 singles

Leave a comment