Hello! Project 30 Question Challenge

It’s been several years since I last did this and I saw someone doing one here so I thought it’s about time I did one again. Well since the last time there have been many graduations and many new groups after all. Besides it’s always good to have an excuse to be enthusiastic about my favourite idols. So let’s go!

1. Your favourite idol?

Nakajima Saki-639336

Well it has to be Nacky. She’s been my favourite C-ute member for a good five or six years and my feelings have never faltered. She’d not the most eye-catching or most extroverted but so what? The great thing about idols is there is an idol for everyone. If you like sporty types there’s Maimi. If you like weird personalities there’s Masaki or pretty much any Tsubaki member. If you like strong tomboy types Angerme have you covered with Countess Duckula (I reckon Takechan was probably bitten by Meimi at least once so you’ve got to figure she’s become a vampire duck by now) and Rikako. If you like great vocal abilities there’s Airi. If you like fun, charming beautiful looking girls there’s still Airi. If you like feeling happy there’s also still Airi. If you like energetic, happy youthful exuberance there’s all of Kobushi. And if you don’t care what happens to your idols when they graduate there’s all of AKB. >.> But for me there’s Nacky. A girl that was shy but good natured and who persevered to become a great performer. A girl that shows that you can do anything if you put your mind to it. Even a shy girl with a cute but weak voice can become a fantastic performer. There’s hope for Tsubaki yet then! Plus Nacky seems like such a caring sister to the other C-uties. She’s also really good-natured. Just look at how she’s embraced the whole fish thing. Nacky is wonderful!

2. The idol you hate or dislike?

I said this last time but hate is too strong a word by far. These are entertainers who work hard to be successful and to make fans happy. Hating would be stupid. Even so Masaki still grates on me like fingernails on a blackboard while Aya Matsuura sings in the background. I’m sorry. I can’t help the way I am.

Sato Masaki-646864

Who me?

3. If you are or were a boy, who would be your girlfriend?

Tough choice. I’m tempted to say Ozeki Mai as she seems like she’d be a great girl to hang around with. So funny, unique, entertaining and cute. Then again there are so many other members I could name. No I’m sticking with my Mai (not Maimai. She’s been in enough trouble with boys recently).

Ozeki Mai-614927

Ozeki Mai. Perfection on so many levels.

4. If the Idol was a boy, who would be your boyfriend?

blog, Nakajima Saki, Yajima Maimi-646896

Yajima Maimi would be the coolest boy. He’d be great at sports and so dashing. So cool. Swoon!

5. Favorite group?

C ute, Hagiwara Mai, Nakajima Saki, Okai Chisato, Suzuki Airi, Yajima Maimi-646822

Give us a C! Give us a hyphen for no reason! Give us a Maimi, Nacky, Airi and two others! It’s 100% C-ute. Momusu got me into idols and changed my life in so many unexpected ways and I still think they are a great group but C-ute are just superb. Musically they have been the most highly consistent group for many many years. In terms of their aura they are so unique. Growing up together just gives them this special bond. I think even their fans are part of that bond. C-ute are sisters, daughters and friends to their fans. It’s like Team C-ute is one huge family spreading right across the world. That’s thanks to five individuals who have come together with a perfect mix of personalities and abilities. It’s also of course thanks to the genius of Tsunku and his songwriting. C-ute are special. If there was such a thing as an idol Olympics C-ute would be getting their third team golds this year. Hmm…idol Olympics…like H!P sports events of years gone by. Now that’d be hugely entertaining.

6. Favorite unit?

Buono!, Natsuyaki Miyabi, Suzuki Airi, Tsugunaga Momoko-312686

A great idol, a batshit insane girl and a horse.

Buono are back! Great group. Great music. Plus it gives us more Airi. What other answer could there be?

7, Favorite Couple/Duo?

Hmm…not totally sure about this. I guess just who goes well together? Well look at pic accompanying question 4. Or look at these…

Nakajima Saki, Yajima Maimi-628486 Nakajima Saki, Yajima Maimi-628487 Nakajima Saki, Yajima Maimi-628488 Nakajima Saki, Yajima Maimi-628489 Nakajima Saki, Yajima Maimi-628490 Nakajima Saki, Yajima Maimi-628491

The girls that launched a thousand fanfics. Perfect couple!

8. Your favourite voice?

Well if it’s best singer it’s Airi. Her speaking voice is so funny too in a way. Kind of quick and garbled. So Airi it is.

Suzuki Airi-646938

9. The voice you dislike?

I’m not sure there is one. Masaki when she speaks is probably the only answer that springs to mind.

Sato Masaki-646860

An annoying idol threatening to speak.

10. The idol you used to hate but now like (or vice versa)?

There’s that H word again. I don’t think there is anyone who has been disliked by me only to rise up or vice versa. I would say though that Rikako grew on me from a position of not getting what the fuss was about to me thinking “oh yeah actually she’s a bit special”. She has something about her you just can’t help but admire.

Sasaki Rikako-647135

11. Favourite C-ute member?

Chissa. Okay no it’s Nacky obviously. See question 1.

Nakajima Saki-643991

Nacky with the world’s luckiest yet least happy looking cat.

12. Favourite Kobushi Factory member?

Although I think Nomura (Nomnom) Minami is fantastic and would be my favourite in almost any other group except C-ute Kobushi have a super special member. Yes it’s Hamachan. A girl with the perfect type of idol personality. So much humour and energy. So endlessly entertaining and with cuteness and beauty to match. Plus she’s a really good performer. Hamsterchan just grabs your attention and then mesmerises. Happy, funny, cute, talented. She is a special one!

Hamaura Ayano-632618

The world’s second luckiest cat pulling tongues at all the other less lucky cats.

13. Favourite Country Girls member?

Ozeki Mai. As mentioned earlier she’s just got such a great aura.

Country Girls, Funaki Musubu, Inaba Manaka, Morito Chisaki, Ozeki Mai, Tsugunaga Momoko, Yamaki Risa, Yanagawa Nanami-636204

Mai in the centre where she belongs.

14. Favourite Morning Musume member?

Ishida Ayumi. there are others I like such as Honey and Oda but really Ayumi is so vibrant and eye-catching. She is a great dancer too. Mostly though you just think of that infectious smile. When you think of someone and the first thing that comes to mind is their happiness that says a lot!

Ishida Ayumi-597748

15. Favourite Angerme member?

Tough call really. Murota catches the eye, Rikako has a big impact and Ducky is still somehow really easy to like. I’m going with Huey, Louie and Dewey’s sister Suey…sorry Takeuchi. There’s something very different about her. She’s got a tomboy vibe but with such a sense of fun too. I can’t really put my finger on it (due to the impending court case. No touchy!) She just seems unique. It’s refreshing.

Takeuchi Akari-621687

16. Favourite Juice=Juice member?

This is a bit difficult as none of them has really grabbed me (due to the court case. No touchy! Get away from me Tomoko you psycho!) I’d say based on looks as much as anything else Miyazaki Yuka. I love her eyes! She sort of reminds me a bit of Junjun.

Miyazaki Yuka-634798

17. Favourite Chewbacca Factory member?

WookieeWarriors

Maybe the one front and centre.

Ohhh okay. If I have to I’ll talk about Tobacco Factory instead. Well what can I say? I don’t know much about them and I’m a bit mean as I laugh when I think about them. Most seem haunted somehow. Almost all of them would be great in a Japanese horror film as the scary ghost that comes out the tv screen/phone/laptop. But it’s also clear that the one I’ve always thought could be a bit special in the right ways rather than just the you know…special way is Asakura Kiki. And by way of example I give you a photo of her looking just beautiful. She could be really good for that group. Even with her scary possessed eyes creepy doll look…

Asakura Kiki-633082

18. Who would you like to be for a day?

The Hello! Project pantie fitter. Yes obviously that job doesn’t actually exist right now but since this is a wish question I can come up with anything I want. But if it had to be an idol I’d choose Chissa. I’d be able to be close to Nacky, Maimi, Airi and Maimai all day and nobody would be at all surprised if I suddenly made a pass at one of them.

C ute, Hagiwara Mai, Nakajima Saki, Okai Chisato, Suzuki Airi, Yajima Maimi-634666

Chissa in a happy place.

19. The idol you have the most respect for or admire?

Difficult question. They are all such hard-working people. Even the ones I like the least I respect. They put their all into their careers and make so many people happy. I guess in one way I’d say all of C-ute plus Momochi as they have all been working at it for so long. All of them have a great body of work behind them. Okay Momochi was in Berryz so not that great but in terms of volume it is. if I had to choose just one member though I guess it’s Maimi. She has looked almost effortlessly cool for so long and has become such a great leader of not just a great group but also a great company of groups. She gives off the perfect vibes as the flag person for H!P. So well liked by everyone, both idols and fans. Liked by all ages and genders too. Always smiling, always dependable. Even when she fluffs a line it’s somehow something that just makes her more likeable. She is a fantastic person.

Yajima Maimi-647028

20. Your favourite “fashionista”?

Iikubo Haruna. She’s one of my favourites in Momusu anyway and she’s got a model type of vibe.

Iikubo Haruna-646313

21. Past H!P member you miss the most?

Well Ai-chan is my favourite idol ever. Junjun was great and underused. Yuuka was also bloody awesome. I could say any of those three. Then again there’s Sayu. Somehow I miss Sayu a lot more because she was part of the current Momusu too. Her caring big-sisterly love for them combined with her beauty and acid-tongued humour made her a big loss when she graduated. Sayu was a brilliant idol even if she couldn’t sing her way out of a pissed-up karaoke competition. She was always going to be a big loss.

Michishige Sayumi-553996

All together on the count of three. 1. 2. 3. COME BACK SAYUUUUUUUUUUUU!

22. Idol that is not one of your favourites but you think is good?

Well there’s a lot. I’d say outside my top six or seven (so not including Nacky, Maimi, Hamachan, Airi, Ayumi, Nommy Minami or Ozeki Mai) I’d have to say Oda Sakura is impressive. She seems like she has a really good voice and is a really high level performer. More than that though she seems somehow just a bit different to the rest. Maybe it’s being from the lonely gen but there is something that sets her apart from everyone else but which makes her catch your eye. She seems super dependable and talented. I like her a lot yet, other than buying her photobook, I’ve never really followed her as closely as she probably deserves (due to the court case. They are getting tiresome now).

Oda Sakura-630707

23. Past group you miss the most?

4-nin S/mileage. YUUUUUKKKKAAAAAAAAAAAAA! I think that counts as an answer. Original S/mileage were the kind of group Kobushi Factory are now. Some great songs and with a great feeling of togetherness between the members. Plus like Kobushi Factory with Hamachan S/mileage also had a mesmerising, beautiful and charming ex trainee in Maeda Yuuka. They were such a great group.

Wada Ayaka, Maeda Yuuka, Fukuda Kanon, Ogawa Saki, S mileage-172112Maeda Yuuka, Photobook-226386

All together on the count of three. 1. 2. 3. COME BACK YUUUUUUUKKKKKKAAAAAAA!

24. Idol with the best personality?

So tough again. I need to mention Suzuki Airi again at some stage though right? And when it comes to personality she is up there. So full of humour and energy and so effortlessly charming. She has been so entertaining for so many years. Add to that her vocal talent and you have one of Japan’s best idols without question.

Suzuki Airi-646944

25. Idol that you have special feelings for?

Kind of strange question. Surely that’s just your favourite idol? The feels for my top 6 or so are strong but the strongest feelings would be for the idols I’ve met so that’s C-ute. Well more specifically my favourite three in C-ute. So Nacky, Maimi and Airi. Nacky is my favourite so Nacky it is!

Nakajima Saki-608957

What me?

26. Idol that brings you special feelings of somebody or something?

Well Airi brings back memories of Paris just like the other C-ute members. Except Airi is my wife’s favourite in C-ute so Airi then. Although include ex-idols and Sayu would give stronger memories in that way.

Photobook, Suzuki Airi-463651

27. Your favourite idol leader?

Maimi. Well see previous Maimi answers!

Okai Chisato, Photobook, Yajima Maimi-278200

Me as Chissa for a day. Slowly slowly catchy C-utie.

28. The idol you’d like to go on vacation with for a week?

Well I would want to relax so not Maimi. It’d involve too much exercise. I reckon it’d be fun to go on vacation with Hamachan. She’d be endlessly entertaining, would want to do fun things and you could spoil her like a little princess.

Hamaura Ayano, Miyamoto Karin-642015

Vacation with Hamachan. Bringing a friend is optional but the more the merrier!

29. Favourite Kenshuusei member?

Tanabe Nanami. She hasn’t left. She hasn’t! Well then I refuse to answer.

Tanabe Nanami-639879

A techically incorrect answer.

30. Why do you like Hello! Project?

Sorry I’m just going to repost my answer to this same question from July 2011. Five years may have passed but the answer is no less true.

“Because I like life? I like being happy? I like catchy music? I like cute girls? I like catchy music and cute girls in pv’s and concerts? I love the personalities? I love the refreshing feeling you get from H!P? I love the feeling of being alive and that being alive is actually a good thing (as opposed to a lot of western entertainment that just makes me wish everyone would fuck off and die)? All those reasons and so many more. Hello! Project’s music and personalities are the ultimate in feel-good entertainment. I come from the west. So much western entertainment seems to be about big egos and arrogant posturing. Hello! Project (and Japanese idol entertainment in general) is like the anti-venom to the poisonous bite of much western entertainment. There’s a sense of fun to it. A sense of happiness. A feeling of family. You watch these idols grow and mature both as people and entertainers and you feel support for them. You form a bond. Okay it’s one they will mostly never know of but it’s inside you (new insert as hey in the past five years with idols blogging and stuff we now know they actually are aware and they really do feel our support). Hello! Project is like getting a little glimpse of Paradise. Oh to live in that world. Of course that world doesn’t exist. It’s entertainment. It’s not Japanese reality. But it is a Japanese creation and I don’t think any other country in the world could have come up with something so happy, funny, imaginative, colourful and unique. The music, personalities and fashions combine to make a perfect shot of joy. The antidote to, well if not all life’s ills then certainly a bloody large number of them. Hello! Project makes the heart and mind happy. I can’t think of any other entertainment company that is even half as good at doing that. Or a quarter as good for that matter. Hello! Project, it’s music, it’s idols, it’s tv appearances, concerts, solo or group dvds in places like Hawaii or Phuket, it’s fan club shows, it’s theatre shows, it’s members forays into film or tv acting, it’s photobooks, it’s pvs and it’s sense of all friends together is a shining beacon in the world of entertainment. It enriches my life by providing several years worth of entertainment the like of which I have never seen before or seen done so well. It enriches my life by introducing me to the beautiful personalities of Japanese idols. It enriches me by making me feel really REALLY genki. Hello! Project keeps you feeling young, energetic and alive. What could be better?”

Hello! Project, Kumai Yurina, Natsuyaki Miyabi-600474

Perfection!

So there you have it. A love letter…post to H!P. All the idols make H!P what it is. Even the ones I’m less interested in. They all play their part and deserve our respect. We really are blessed to live in a time when we can support these girls even if we live in another part of the world. We are blessed to know of them and have so many countless hours of entertainment because of them. So long live Hello! Project and all who sail in her!

2 responses to “Hello! Project 30 Question Challenge

  1. Since I agree with you on almost everything, I’ll focus on the negative here. XD

    2. Well, I disagree on Maachan! But you knew that already.

    3. A wonderful choice! 😀 Although I probably wouldn’t pick Mai for this question myself.

    4. Haha I love Maimi but I wouldn’t want a boyfriend like her. I do remember choosing her for the girlfriend question though.

    15. We don’t agree on anything Angerme related, do we? Except for Rikako. And I think you like Ayacho too even though you didn’t mention her.

    16. Yukanyan is a sweetheart but visually I’d rank her the last in the group. Still pretty though (all idols are pretty to me anyway) and I can see the Junjun resemblance.

    That’s it, really! All your other choices would be if not my first choices, at least very close.

    Oh and it only makes sense you picked Sayu over Aichan as the idol you miss the most. Aichan is everywhere these days, no time to miss her!

    Also I know I’ve said this before but I love that quote from 2011! 🙂

    Like

  2. I think we agree a lot but I think we disagree about the attractiveness of Junjun and therefore Yuka too. XD

    I lika Dawa in Angerme. She’s a good leader. She’s never quite been top for me though.

    Ai-chan is all over Instagram as much as anything else. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

